A Tinted Moisturiser that Stay, Stay, Stays

In hindsight, it wasn’t a great idea travelling home from London to Manchester at 3am. Last weekend, the significant other and myself were bound for the big city for a Taylor Swift concert. Problem, how the heck was I going to keep my make up from melting off my face?

Answer: NARS Tinted Moisturiser.

e4f0022b-beb8-49b4-a0f0-55fb1a4ca8da

I’ve never been very lucky with face make up, I don’t wear foundation, and BB creams/ tinted moisturisers make my oily skin fit for egg frying after an hour. I’ve been using the Simple Beautifying Balm, and let me tell you – that ‘light reflecting particles’ statement is just a jazzy way of saying pure glitter. Sick of looking like Tinkerbell’s play thing, I decided to splash a little and try the NARS addition to the tinted moisturiser world.

*cue halleluiah chorus*

What NARS say:
“Your skin – almost bare but better. This lightweight oil- free tinted moisturiser provides a translucent veil of colour and sun protection while helping to reduce the appearance of hyperpigmentation and dark spots in four weeks. Infused with lush, naturally derived botanicals and ingredients to help thirsty skin feel hydrated.

What Relly says:

Whatever NARS said. With a whopping SPF 30, I was expecting thick gloop but how wrong was I. When applied, the consistency is really creamy and a little goes a long way. It left my skin feeling soft and moisturised all day without the dreaded grease.

photo

A small pea sized amount blended with a Stippling brush is more than enough. With a dewy finish, the coverage is sheer but easily buildable. It does even out my complexion, and blur my dark acne spots, but I still require a little concealer over my troublesome areas and pesky dark under eye circles.

It lasts as long as can be expected. Without powder, it will begin to wear off after 5 hours or so; but splash it with a little powder when you apply and you’re good to go. I applied it around 9am, by 3pm when we reached London, I touched up my concealer and forgot about it until 11pm. To my surprise, it was only my concealer needing a touch up.

*Note to self – buy a good concealer.*

One Con:
The main problem with this product is the shade range. It comes in 11 shades, but there are worlds of difference between them. I got the shade Medium 1 St Moritz, which is just the right shade for my half cast skin tone; but the shade after it, Annapurma is A LOT darker and made me look like an umpa lumpa.

Overall, I love this baby. Retailing at £28, the NARS tinted moisturiser does everything you’d expect from a good tinted moisturiser. Hydrating the skin and lightly covering imperfections, without turning into a big oily mess. It withstood two big journeys, and 4 sweaty hours singing along to Taylor Swift.

Sorry Simple Beautifying Balm – ‘We, are never ever ever getting back together.’ – couldn’t resist that one!

What do you think of the NARS tinted moisturiser, and can anyone recommend a good concealer?

Ciao for now
x
http://www.narscosmetics.co.uk/complexion/tinted-moisturizer/

2 thoughts on “A Tinted Moisturiser that Stay, Stay, Stays

Leave a Reply

